Photo

Silly question... google...

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Jess_S

Jess_S

Posted 19 June 2014 - 07:15 AM

Why does google have an account on this forum?  It was active members "google", "bing", "yahoo".  Is that the search engines?  omg if it is... I assume there's a robots.txt file somewhere to stop the google bots logging everything?  eeep!

Jx

Edited by Jess_S, 19 June 2014 - 07:16 AM.

#2 Sam_Guy

Sam_Guy
  • Mike

• Contributing Member

Posted 19 June 2014 - 08:25 AM

Jess,

This question has come up before.  It upset a lot of us when they started showing up after the last update.  But the bots just have access to the Public areas like anyone else that's not a member would be able to access.

Hope this helps.

Mike

#3 Jess_S

Jess_S

Posted 19 June 2014 - 09:03 AM

Umm. Sorry. Okay that is sort of embarrassing. I really should have known that given I have an MSc in computer science and am studying for a PhD... Awks. Jx

#4 Sam_Guy

Sam_Guy
  • Mike

• Contributing Member

Posted 19 June 2014 - 09:15 AM

I'm a professional geek too and I reacted exactly the same way when I first saw it, that's why I answered.  Given where we are and why, it's understandable that our first reaction comes from our paranoia.  Take care.

#5 Sami1961

Sami1961

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:18 AM

Jess_S  thanks for asking the question. It's important to find out so we can continue to feel safe so we can relate to each other honestly. There are no stupid questions.

Edited by Sami1961, 19 June 2014 - 10:19 AM.

#6 Susan

Susan

Member Away

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:35 AM

Hi Jess,

All I can add here has already been said really but please - there are no silly questions! We're glad to answer any concerns members may have! That's why this forum was created. :)