Dream Interpretation

Susan

Dream Interpretation

by Abbi

Dream Interpretation

When I first started talking and listening to other people who had suffered a sexual assault or abuse, I became aware that many survivors have to deal with nightmares. More often than not, many of us spend a considerable amount of time trying to understand these terrifying and often very confusing nightmares and try to interpret their meaning in a way that makes sense to us. I do not claim that I'm an expert on this subject. However, over time, I have discovered that frequently when I hear other survivors describe their dreams, I can clearly see a situation that they are possibly experiencing in the present waking life. So, I'd like to share with you my thoughts about dreams and what has helped me.

What are dreams? Why do we have them?

When we start facing nightmares in the midst of dealing with the traumas we've survived, dreams tend to become part of the tangle of complicated emotions we experience on a daily basis. Dreams become something that seem to heighten our fear or shame about sexual abuse / assault and it feels like one more thing we need to somehow survive. There's often pain, humiliation and shame associated with a lot of these dreams. There may be feelings of disgust, self-hatred, and/or guilt at some of these dreams because we can't seem to control what they're about and feel like we ought to be able to.