Photo

Research request

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 bumblebee_hope

bumblebee_hope

Posted 01 April 2010 - 02:26 PM

Hi- I've also posted this on the help desk forum as I don't know where it should go.
Hi,

I posted a while back with a research request that I was seeking permission from a moderator to post. I thought nobody had replied, but it turns out that it was just my own computer illiteracy, and that I very kind moderator had requested to view my questionnaire.

I am a student from the UK wishing to post the following questionnaire on the research, activism and speaking out forum in order to aid a sociology project able reporting rates of crimes of sexual violence. I hope the questions are phrased sensitively and without judgement. I would not use names in my report, of course. If given permission, I plan to invite readers to post questions on the forum or PM me, depending on what they feel most comfortable with.

Here are my questions:

1. It is often very difficult for victims/survivors of sexual violence to report the crime to the police or other appropriate organisations. What would you say was your main reason for not reporting your own assault?

2. Was a lack of support or understanding from family and friends a contributing factor to your decision not to report?

3. Was feeling like you would not be believed a contributing factor to your decision not to report?

4. Was feeling as though you were responsible for your own assault a contributing factor to your decision not to report?

5. Were you aware of the low conviction rape for perpetrators of sexual violence prior to your assault? Did this influence your decision not to report?

6. How accurately do you think sexual assault/abuse is presented in the media? Do you think the way in which you had seen such things presented prior to your assault was a contributing factor to your decision not to report?