Photo

the healing journey and the relapse

Posted by bluebutterfly , 26 June 2013 · 60 views

I've never kept a blog before. I'm a writer, so supposedly this should be easy.

I'm so sad right now and fallen into the realm where every day is a battle. It seems like every day is a long list of things to do, and each task is like climbing a mountain. I'm very discouraged that I'm back here.

I'd never told anyone about the trauma I'd experienced when I was nine years old until seven years ago. Seven years ago, my memories started flooding me after a meditation retreat. The first person I told was my fiance at the time, who had a terrible reaction. He was so angry and unsupportive that we broke up a few weeks after I told him. Then I was alone in the apartment we'd shared. And I began my healing process.

The steps in my healing journey: two years of intense, painful therapy. Telling all my closest friends, and by a miracle every one of them was supportive. Somatic coaching. I didn't even know when I started somatic coaching that I spent more than 50% of the time disassociated. I slowly learned not to disassociate, and I am proud to say that at this point I only disassociate under extreme stress and I always know when I'm doing it and also know how to bring myself back.

Depression was different. I've suffered from chronic depression since I was nine, and my brain just seemed to keep going back there as its default response to stress. I started taking Celexa for PTSD and depression in 2007, and though medication made a huge difference with PTSD it only eased the worst of the depression--I continued to suffer from moderate depression.