Photo

something I want to share...

Posted by missophelia , 16 March 2013 · 36 views

And right now, it doesn't really mean a whole lot to me. But maybe it can be something I can hang on to, and it can help to bring me out of my depression.

C, who ran the art show at my VA last month, approached me last week. Someone from a local organization, is having an art show in May, and wants to exhibit some works of local veterans. C asked me if she could give my contact info to the woman who is planning the show.

I have spoken with this woman. It looks like I will be able to have some of my works featured in the art show.

So, this woman asked if I could email her photos of a couple of my paintings, along with a bio/statement. So, the following is the bio/statement I wrote, and just recently emailed to her.

I am a veteran of the United States Navy. I served from 1986 to 1990. I was stationed at Naval Facility Centerville Beach, in Ferndale, California, and worked in a secured facility.

I found art at a young age, and have been artistically expressive since kindergarten. Art allows me to express emotions and feelings, as well as the beauty I find in the world, as seen through my eyes. I have a great affinity for trees. I am drawn to them. To me, they represent the beauty of creation, and the soul of the universe. So they are a theme in a great number of my works.

In my mind art is not simply meant to illustrate what is real. It is also meant to illustrate what is in your mind. Your imagination, what you see, and how you see it. The good, the bad, the beautiful, the ugly. Or just that magical wonder that makes you, you. Let the world see you and who you are.

As I said at the beginning of this post, maybe this whole thing is something I can hang on to. Maybe my words can help to bring me out of my depression. Maybe being in the show will help.

Because I just don't know what will help anymore.

Photo
Untangling-It-All
Mar 16 2013 06:49 PM