• Last visited

3 Followers

About jsbpdx

Profile Information

• Gender identity
    Female
  • Membership Type
    Survivor
  1. I understand what you mean. Yesterday someone who I thought was a dear friend told me "you need to stop putting yourself in situations where you are going to get hurt like this. It happens because you trust people too much. It never would have happened to me because I dont trust anyone enough".
  2. I chose to not report. I did not tell anyone for months. I was terrified by the threats and humiliated. I felt like I should have known better than to be in that position. Because I work in the mental health field I felt like I should be able to "fix" it all. I had always been one of those people who lectured others about not reporting a crime. But after the horror of reporting my father, I knew that I could never go down that road again. I sometimes look back (It has been five and a half years) and wonder if things would have been different if I had reported them and what they did to me. But hindsight is 20/20, and on the whole I am glad that I didn't report it.
  3. "You are too strong to let this destroy you. Jeanette, you are brilliant. I refuse to believe that this will be your legacy. You will more than survive. You will thrive."