Photo

Sensitive Signs

Posted by sailor , in Therapy 26 November 2013 · 201 views

Since starting therapy and being diagnosed with PTSD, I'm slowly learning that some "odd" behaviors I've always had may be a part of it. I told my therapist that I've always been over sensitive. We talked a little and then I started a list... 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My sensitivities- and fears... a short list for now.

• Taste- texture more than flavor.

• Light- both too bright and too dark.

• Sound- I startle easily, though I can hide it. I need white noise to sleep. Without it I hear a sharp ringing that I can't ignore.

• Teeth- dental picks make me cringe, when I go for a cleaning I have goosebumps the entire time. When I feel the picks catch on something, I fear my teeth will break.

• Body hair- especially bad on my legs, where I have been shaving for 16 years. I recently stopped and allowed the hair to grow back. I hate the feeling of the hair brushing backwards. It is hard to get comfortable at night in bed.

• Pubic hair- I keep it short because I hate the feeling of it long. The hair ends up curling in to the sensitive areas and I feel it poking/scratching me.

• Smell- body smells, perfume

• Sock seams (outgrown, but it was a big problem as a kid)

• Clothing tags- still drive me crazy, but I leave most intact now

• Gag reflex- very sensitive, I gag almost every day just brushing my teeth

• Touch- I hate touching fine grit sandpaper, or fired but unfinished pottery

• Emotions- I'm easily affected by the moods around me.