Family and work life

Posted by greengoddess72 , 23 February 2013 · 41 views

I used to be a full time chemistry teacher. I taught other things too Ė Bio, chem, physics, geometry, environmental science. I taught bilingual Spanish sections of chemistry and geometry. I would tutor kids after school in whatever subject they needed. I also did ACT/SAT prep classes after school. I started a robotics team at my last school. I was the girlsí soccer coach at my first school.

But then I got laid off. That was 2009. I didn't really get along with the department chair and didn't have tenure, so I was just not renewed. Also, I was teaching mostly bilingual classes at the time and our Hispanic population dropped as the economy went south, so there was no need for 2 bilingual math and science teachers. And since I was the newest one, you know Ė last hired, first fired.

So that sent me into a deep depression. I got unemployment for the entire 99 weeks I was eligible. When it ran out, the depression got worse and I just shut down. The good thing that came from the layoff was that it was around the time my brother and sister decided to start reproducing. I was available to help watch/raise their kids. My brotherís kid especiallyÖ

My brotherís wife (referred to as my SIL (sister-in-law) from now on) is mildly disabled. She had some sort of sporting injury in college and it never really did get better. She has had shoulder surgery about 4 times now and it gets better for a time and then it gets much worse. So in 2009 sheís had 3 of these surgeries and is pregnant with their first baby. Baby comes, she canít lift him or anything. Auntie to the rescue! So me, my mom, and her mom take turns being live-in nannies for them. One week at a time, we would take turns living with them. If I had been working full time, I couldn't have helped them at all, so my layoff was quite convenient. Also, my brother paid me, so I was happy about that. Heís a dentist so he can afford it.