Photo

Up and Coming

Posted by LBinON , 07 August 2012 · 75 views

I have plans.
BIG plans, I am going traveling. In 8 days I will be off to the beautiful Allegheny forest in Pennsylvania.
I will be volunteering at a camp. Not only that but I will be dressing up as an 11th century nun to do it. (Which let me tell you has brought no end to the giggles I have subjected my self to with that costume)
And then 18 days after I get back I am off on a cruise but that is another subject altogether.

I have been helping run this camp for several years now and I love every exhausting minute of it. I will see friends that I have know for years and see only at this camp. I will sing songs, wrangle leaders and hand out water. I will eat camp food, compile statistics and stay up way to late. I will see the joy on a child's face when they accomplish something new and I will laugh like a fool over campfire skits I have seen a million times. Did I mention I can't wait?

I first started going to this camp about twenty years ago when I was a youth. I was one of the first girls to go to this particular camp and back then there were no facilities for girls; I even had to have a guard when I used the KYBOs, since it was the only way to ensure my privacy. The camp has come a long way since then. Now there are facilities and female leaders, and no one would ever think of telling a girl she didn't belong there just because of her gender. The problem comes from the fact that the first time I went to this camp all those years ago, my attacker used the event as another opportunity to assault me.