Photo

Lost in a sea of despair

Posted by Irishleo , 23 September 2011 · 92 views

I am new to writing a blog, but the idea appealed to me as I have virtually no one to talk to about what has happened to me. There is something comforting about the act of writing my thoughts, even if they accomplish little in terms of actual solace. But it's worth a try...

For most of my life I have been plagued by fragments of memories of abuse from my earliest childhood years. Broken memories that left me uncertain of what was real and what was imagined. It was only just last week that those memories were proven to be just that, actual memories. Sickening disturbing memories of violation and trauma, of the worst kind. And worst of all, the main perpetrator (though not the only one) was my own uncle. So beyond just the visceral pain of knowing what happened to me as a child was done to me by someone I thought I loved, who loved me. It seems incredible to believe that for years I have blocked out the clear memory of his identity, telling myself that it was all nightmares, something my childhood mind fabricated.

I have cried every day for a week since I found out that my own uncle began raping me when I was only 5 or 6 six years old. I am not positive when the molestation ended and the actual rapes began. But these memories suddenly came flooding back to me recently and now I cannot seem to make them go away. Every night when I close my eyes I see his leering face and remember his alcohol laden breath as he hovered over me. And I remember the fear pulsing through me.